Lost

May 4, 2008 at 8:23 pm (Uncategorized)

I had heard of the tv series Lost before this class, but before Rebecca brought a clip to class, I had never seen it. After the clip, I was intrigued. Many of my friends and acquaintances are hooked on the show. Even to the point they must be home on that night to see the new episode, and Rebecca shared the same interest in the show. I decided that there must be something to a show so many people love, so I went online to check it out.

After watching the pilot episode I could see why so many people were into it. Being stranded on a desert island after a plane crash is a fear many people have, including myself. But Lost is no Gilligan’s Island. The humor isn’t there. The characters in Lost take their situation very seriously, as they should. Not only are they stranded on a desert island with people they don’t know, there is a whole bunch of other crazy shit going on.

Because I only watched one episode, I have yet to discover what the noise is or what is knocking down all of the trees. But I appreciate the addition of a supernatural element to the show. Adding a mystery such as that to getting all wrapped up in the characters is an excellent way to keep the story alive on multiple levels.

Besides the setting, the personal situation of each character, and the supernatural stuff, I think this show speaks to people on another level. The idea of being lost in the world is one that resonates with me personally. I often wonder how it is that on such a large planet with so many people that I can feel lost at times. It’s more of a feeling of being lost in humanity, rather than a feeling of not knowing where I am. More than ever, society is focused on the singularity of humans. We have gotten away from the clans and families of the olden days. We no longer rely on each other for survival. I think that Lost revisits this idea of dependence on others. In order for us to be able to understand, the characters are removed from the society they are used to and placed in a situation where their survival is entirely dependent on those around them.

Watching past episodes of Lost is definitely on my agenda. I am glad I was finally spurred to see what it was all about.

Leave a comment